Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Johngofast INTRO and Newbie Volksrod Build
Forum Index -> Other VW Vehicles/Volksrods Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
JohnGoFast
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:39 pm    Post subject: Johngofast INTRO and Newbie Volksrod Build Reply with quote

Hello everyone! I've been lurking for a few years, as my wife of 10 years has always wanted an older Beetle. She's always commented on Volksrods and said she wanted something "different like that". I've been restoring and building motorcycles for about 15 years and recently finished up all the projects I've been working on when I saw a '66 Volksrod project up for sale on a local classified, I snatched it up.

It's stripped and just a roller with a trans. I received a bulk of parts old a new with it including new gauges, trans raise kit, spare swingaxle transmission, spare swingaxle, bucket headlights, front end brace, new alloy door handles, shocks, half and quarter floor pan to replace pan on the battery side, and a ton of other parts, some of which I may post for assistance identifying!

It did not come with a motor, but I could see from the machining on the installed trans and the starter/bushing, that it had a 12V motor in it at sometime. I purchased a Superbeetle with a running 1600 in it and robbed the motor and some other various parts, then sold it. Only a few of the dash pieces were in the boxes so I searched the classifieds here on Samba and found a complete set with chrome, someone had cut the dash for a modern radio so I ordered a weld in replacement which will let me install a radio delete with chrome to match.

This is all for the wife, so most of these decisions are made by her after I present the options (and give my recommendation ).