Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Good VW Mechanics in VA
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> 411/412 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
1973 412 WAGON
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 7:32 am    Post subject: Good VW Mechanics in VA Reply with quote

Any body know of any good VW Mechanics/shops in the Richmond VA Area? I need to have my 412 checked out. I have done a complete tune -up and she will not hold a steady idle. It fluctuates up and down but does stay running. I am new to the VW world. I have restored some muscle cars in the past but i will tell you this VW thing is different. I just want to get her right before i let the wife start driving it. And it is growing on me, cool little car for sure.
19super73
Hardcore Stock Nazi

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Save yourself some $$$ and check for the basics first. Test the fuel pressure, check for vacuum leaks, check your grounds and connections to the MAP etc.
1973 Super Beetle
1973 Westfalia [url=https://www.vw-mplate.com/mplate-31892.png]Click to view image[/URL]
1974 412 Variant
1975 La Grande Bug
1984 Vanagon
raygreenwood
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. The likelihood of finding a mechanic that can properly expertly work on D-jet is about "0". Also finding a mechanic who has "some" experience with D-jet....which is hard to do.....will cost you large dollars in time simply because they will have to spend hours checking every last seal and item.

You can do all of this yourself with an $8 volt meter and a $10 pressure gauge and basic hand tools.
Long before you take this to a mechanic there are a lot of basic checks and putting things in order you can and should do.