Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

2027 build questions for a VW newb
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
pitdad22
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:30 pm    Post subject: 2027 build questions for a VW newb Reply with quote

Hi all.

I've rebuilt small block chev's before but I'm new to VW's.

I have a sandrail that I recently purchased for my daughter to run that had a worn out stock 1600 in it with a broken valve spring tired crank and cracked heads.... So on....

I would like to upgrade the engine without totally blowing my budget but I also don't want to do it twice. I've been doing a bunch of reading and it sounds like the best thing to do is NOT just throw slip in cylinders but to go ahead and machine the case for 90.5's and since the crank is tired I was thinking of stroking it while I was at it probably have the clearance job done at the same time by Rimco or VW brothers or???

I was looking at the SCAT Volkstroker III Cast setup which is a 2027cc setup with 90.5's and a 78.8mm crank. I was thinking the SCAT C25 cam to keep the power down low since with the cast crank and relatively stock heads it won't be an RPM screamer.

My heads are stock dual port that I was going to put the rocker shim kit on and get rid of the wavy washers. I have dual Dellorto FRD 34 carbs. Tranny in the sandrail is a 3 rib bus IRS bus tranny.

But I have a few questions for all of you that are much more experienced than I...

Is this a decent engine setup that should be a good combo for sand?

When adjusting the deck height what am I shooting for?

How to you determine the length to trim the push rods too?