Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1600cc enough for a dune buggy?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Kit Car/Fiberglass Buggy/356 Replica Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
This page may contain links to eBay where the site receives compensation.
ukrdan
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 10:57 am    Post subject: 1600cc enough for a dune buggy? Reply with quote

So i recently acquired a dune buggy that is in pretty horrible shape. I took the engine off and ripped it apart. it was so seized up due to rust that i just gave up on trying to rebuild it. the dune buggy came with another engine; it is a 1600cc 152255. i was wondering how i can get more power out of it. bore out? dual carbs? im new to these engines so i may sound dumb. your input would be greatly appreciated. thanks Dan.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Bret2094
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It really depends on how you plan on using it, and money available to do the build. If you are going to putt around the woods and just climb some normal hills, a 1600 will do fine. If you want crazy dangerous and fast, I would build a 1776 or larger.

Pretty cool project. A couple wire brushes and a weekend, and that rail could be cleaned enough for paint. I'd hit the while thing with a brush, power wash it, and then dry and apply some rust inhibitor like metal prep or ospho. Wash that stuff off and you can hit it with whatever paint you desire. That and a weekend brake job, and you'll be set apart from mechanicals

Bret
1962 Karmann Ghia
1967 beetle( august 66, first car)
1967 beetle (parts car)

1977 Westfalia Camper

1972 Plymouth Duster