Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

78 Mercury Bobcat Engine
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Off Topic Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
dfmastin
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 6:17 pm    Post subject: 78 Mercury Bobcat Engine Reply with quote

I'm a noob that two days ago inherited a 73 VW camper with a water cooled engine. I was told it has a German made Ford engine so I assumed, from reading around on the internet, that meant a Ford Cologne V6 engine. Today I was sorting through papers in the glove box and found a small piece of paper with the oil filter part number and the last line reads:
"78 Mercury Bobcat Engine"
I Googled this and found that there is some overlap with the Ford Cologne V6 engine that I don't understand.
Can somebody explain?
Should I take a picture of the engine?
EverettB Premium Member
Administrator

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Someone may answer but photos are always good.
Stop dead photo links! Post your photos to The Samba Gallery!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Facebook Instagram Gallery Classifieds Feedback
oorwullie
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the V4 was more common in europe , plus an inline 4 with OHC .

so what have you got,a straight 4, V4 or V6?

just because the oil filter part number is for a mercury bobcat (ford pinto) doesn't specifically mean that you have that engine, lot's of filters are interchangeable.
dfmastin
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote