Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Kit Car with VW Van engine/transaxle (need help identifying)
Forum Index -> Kit Car/Fiberglass Buggy/356 Replica Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jeff911C
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 7:55 am    Post subject: Kit Car with VW Van engine/transaxle (need help identifying) Reply with quote

Hey guys, I'm new to the form, I recently bought a Covin here in the USA and it has a VW Van engine/trans in it. It has a carb on it that looks kinda janked up if you ask me. I was wondering if you guys could tell me if it was a fuel injected engine that was converted to carb and anymore info on the engine or trans. I have added pictures to help, but on the block it has CV039523 and the starter turns it over and sounds like it has good compression but I'm not getting spark at all. The carb will spit fuel back, it also has an electric fuel pump that is working fine it seems. I'm trying to confirm its a van model from 1980 to 83...

Thanks in advance!

Engine Code?
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Hydraulic?

Rear

Drivers Side transaxle

Pass Side transaxle
jspbtown
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CV 1980-1983 2000cc - Vanagon style
manxdavid
Samba Member

Location: David Jones, Anglesey, North Wales, UK. Manxclub #678.

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The carburettor's a British 'S.U.' probably off something like an old Jag, MG or Triumph.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
monomanx
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes..type 4 / vanagon engine and it would have been FI.