Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

HELP-- Blows fuse when right turn signal 75 Super
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
tdnp
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 8:56 am    Post subject: HELP-- Blows fuse when right turn signal 75 Super Reply with quote

OK, this is a pain. Smile and let me say that I hate electrical problems and I am not very good at troubleshooting electrical issues.

75 Super
All was OK, then we replaced the bushing in the steering column (not sure this was the case but it was after this it began) I have tested all the pins at the bottom of the column and none ring to ground. now when we turn on the right turn signal it blows the fuse.

Some of the things that I have looked at and find weird.
The emergency flasher work perfectly.
When I test the two green wires from the load side of the fuse both get continuity to ground.
When I test the center plug on the lights they too get continuity to ground.
The flashers try to work when left is selected but blink fast. or stay on.

I have taken all the other circuit off the #12 fuse and tested still blows the fuse.

Any advice on how to trouble shoot and find the problem is appreciated.
brianlewis60
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would check the "movable" wiring. Sounds like you could have moved a wire possibly in the turn signal switch. Continuity to ground on any hot wire is why you are blowing fuses. Sounds like you have narrowed it down to RT indicator. Tracking down a short is never fun, it will take time and you will have to check every point in the RT signal wire to find a small nick in a wire rubbing.
tdnp
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote