Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

wiring problems...?
Forum Index -> Beetle - Oval-Window - 1953-57 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
muppet
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 10:30 pm    Post subject: wiring problems...? Reply with quote

Hi my name is scott and I have a 57 oval I've been working on for a about two years, for pretty close to 6 months I've been driving it daily, I'm still running 6v and a 36 horse. For some reason the last month I can start my bug fine in the morning and drive it around but, once I turn it off it has a hard time starting up again, if I can't get it to start up within one or two tries it will just die, then I have to push start it. I ran into something today with my lights also, I noticed that my blinkers wouldn't work at idle but, did work when my rpm was up, also my head lights were real dim at idle, so is it a draw that's causing all the problems? new battery a month ago,new nos bosch points today, new bosch coil and new condenser three weeks ago, I replaced my brushes and voltage regulator a year ago. I'm kinda lost right now because it was running so good.

Does anyone have any advice or dealt with the same problems?

Thanks,
Scott.
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Gallery Classifieds Feedback
BulliBill
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Starter issues: might be that the brushed on the commutator inside the starter motor are work or the commutator needs a clean-up. Also the solenoid may be dirty or starting to fail.