Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

912 shifting gears (& trying to avoid reverse while driv
Forum Index -> Porsche - 911/912/914 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Peter - Belgium
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 6:26 am    Post subject: 912 shifting gears (& trying to avoid reverse while driv Reply with quote

Hello all,

I'm new in the 912 driving, so still getting used to the strange shift pattern Very Happy

one question... it seems there is no "preventing feature" from shifting from 4th/2nd to reverse?
When I drive the shift from 4th to 2nd is so close together that I missed it a few times already and that is seemed I was trying to get her in reverse... which is not a good thing to do while driving!

when static and engine not running there seems to be much more space when shifting from 4th to 2nd and then I need to do some more effort to go more to the left to actual move to reverse. During driving this is not the case and all seems much closer and no effort needed to move too much to the left?

Any clues? bushings worn a bit so more play? clutch/throw out bearing worn?

Thanks!
jt912
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am assuming you are talking of a 4 speed transaxle? It is very hard/impossible to get into reverse from 4 or 2 while moving in the 5 speed.
Peter - Belgium
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:08 am    Post subject: 912 shifting Reply with quote

No, it is a 5 speed.

So when driving and I want to take a turn into a street I shift down from 4th gear to 2nd - which btw also feels like I can only move the shiftknob about 1/2 inch to the left to move from 4th to 2nd - i got the grinding noise in the gearbox as if I wanted to push it into reverse??