Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Glass seals and Chrome trim
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
tcflame
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:30 pm    Post subject: Glass seals and Chrome trim Reply with quote

Ok. So at this point i've walked away. I'm working on glass install, all 4, with new american style seals and chrome trim.
be it known this is my first time with glass install so maybe i need some tips.
I'm working with JBugs seals (maybe this is my problem) and chrome. i laid the seals in the sun for a little while to soften up. starting with a 1/4 glass i installed the rubber. then started laying in the chrome which is tough but using silicone helps. now it is a round and round fight to, 1-keep the seal on the glass and 2-keep the chrome in the rubber. over an hour on one glass fighting my way around the stupid thing. I'm very frustrated now so its all sitting in the garage.
Have i wasted money buying these seals from JBugs? this is my first bug and after more research i've learned to rely more on WW. My interior was bought through SewFine but i got these seals way back before i knew better.

Any thoughts or hints???
Thanks,
Tommy
grandpa pete
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tape it on as you go ; once the seal and chrome are on the glass tie string around everything....go to pg24 half way down of my build thread for photos and explanation of the rest

http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=569619&highlight=sedan+delivery
buguy
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bring it down to the Daytona flee market show this weekend. Someone will help you out.
tcflame
Samba Member