Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Craig's 1970 Convertible build
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
craigolio1
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 6:38 pm    Post subject: Craig's 1970 Convertible build Reply with quote

Hello everyone.

A couple of weeks ago I aquired a 1970 Convertible. I haven't done anything to it yet because I had to jump through a few hoops to get it registered. Well, today is a big day. It's officially in my name now and so it has begun. The tear down began tonight with my son and I taking the interior out.

First a bit about me. My name is Craig. I live in Caledon, Ontario. I'm 37, married with three kids 12,9, and 5. I'm a full time Firefighter, a part time 911 operator, and I also have a hobby business installing home theaters. For fun I run marathons and am an Ironman triathlete.

Ever since I was a kid I've wanted a convertible Ghia. My wife found this one on Kijiji and surprised me for our 16th anniversary. My kids are super phsyced about helping me fix it up.

Here it is now. It needs A LOT of work. (I've posted these photos before but thought I should put them in here for the "before" shots.)

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Plans:

Well when I dreamed of it as a kid I had major plans. A Corvair engine, shaved door handles and chrome, Porsche head lights chopped top (I used to want a hard top as it was better for audio), air-bagged, 2000+cc motor, full custom interior, competition winning stereo... you name it. Dreams are cheep when you're 15.

The plan has changed a little over the years but I do still want to do some custom touches. Nothing that hasn't been seen before. Here are a few highlights.