Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Type 3 newbie
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
bhayne
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2015 5:51 am    Post subject: Type 3 newbie Reply with quote

Hello Type 3 world. My name is Brendan and I am a Type 3 Newbie.

I talked my wife into letting me work on another project. Several years ago I restored a 1964 Split window bus ( and received a lot of advice from the great guys on Type 2 side of TheSamba) Very Happy
Now I went and found a nice Type 3 Squareback to restore. I found a cool 65 Squareback/ Variant S with a factory sunroof. My goal is to take the next year and start working my way through the resto.

-Was sitting in storage for 6 years after being painted.
-It has all the bodywork completed but needs minor scratch touch ups.
-No engine
-Tranny seems in good shape (shifts well)
-Rolls fine
-Missing a few parts but almost complete (Chrome was all in boxes which is good because I can see already that some of those chrome parts are bloody expensive)
-Floor pans need complete replacement but heater channels and seat rails seem solid.
-Everything is gutted inside
-Wiring harness is all there but dangling. Seems in good shape though.
-All windows came with it but are removed from vehicle.