Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

72 standard - PA rust to driver project car [pics]
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
GMATech
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:17 pm    Post subject: 72 standard - PA rust to driver project car [pics] Reply with quote

First let me say, I'm not building a show car. I'm a professional mechanic and have always driven beater cars. My current beater car is a $300 civic with a fart cannon exhaust and a laundry list of other problems. I hate every second of driving it. I'm doing this car to be my new daily driver. I'm not at all worried about maintaining originality or resale value. If this is not your cup of tea, stop here.

My "done nicely" project is the 77 camper, but my buddy split up with his girlfriend. With that my bus and his 54 Buick got evicted from the garage.
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

We got the tent garages built in time for the borough to say no way. Next it got towed my parents garage an hour away for hopefully not that long.

I picked up the 72 last spring. It was a good deal, and was on the road until 10 months before that. Floorpans have finally given it up despite the PO's best tin work. Came with all the interior including carpet. I have a nice set of seats from a newer GM product too that I'm probably going to use. Wheels look like they'll clean up and hopefully I can find the one missing center cap. I intend to roller repaint with the same colors.