Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

I want a Rail, talk me out of it!
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Firecat1981
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 11:45 am    Post subject: I want a Rail, talk me out of it! Reply with quote

I keep toying with the idea of buying a street legal Sandrail of some kind to fix up and have fun with. I live in central Florida and there are no sand dunes here, but there are some backwoods trails that jeep, ATV, and side-by-side guys seem to enjoy. Can a rail go places these guys can within reason?

Most of the rail's life will be spent on the streets cruising around. I may even use it as a daily driver from time to time. I have some mechanical experience, but I've never even sat in a VW before. I usually do my own auto repairs (brakes, oil changes, A/C work, minor motor and tranny stuff.....), and I build my own boats, but I don't know how any of that will translate into the VW world. I thought about a Fiero dune buggy since I am very comfortable working on them, but they just aren't as cool and I don't think they can really take the abuse of offroading. I also don't know how to weld, but I might be buying a MIG soon to try out.

So the basic plan would be to buy an old street legal rail, clean it up, maybe build a glass body for her, add a cheap 2500lbs winch and have some fun. Possibly down the road stretch her out to a 4 seater, or buy a frame and swap over the gear.Someone please tell me this is a bad idea for my area. Talk me out of another project that my wife will kill me for!
Dale M.
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:06 pm    Post subject: Re: I want a Rail, talk me out of it! Reply with quote