Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Ring and pinion video inspection
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Parkker
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 12:56 pm    Post subject: Ring and pinion video inspection Reply with quote

Just wanting other opinions from more experienced Syncro transaxle folks.
The Van makes a bit of a whine I guess you would call it. This happens when in gear with positive torque being applied by engine.
When coasting with transaxle in gear and driving engine (negative torque) the sound goes away. Does it in all gears but more noticeable in lower gear.
Shifts are smooth, does not pop out of gear. Is it normal or ? Ring and pinion doesn't look bad to me but I am not an expert. I saw some other videos of ring and pinion where damage was obvious so just looking for experienced opinions.
It's always done this so I don't know if its normal or not have never ridden in another Vanagon.

Thanks,

Parkker
Link
[/vimeo]
gears
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 5:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Ring and pinion video inspection Reply with quote

If you look at the pinion tooth in the background of my photo below, it looks terrible. But it's actually in the same good shape as the one in the foreground. My point is that looking through a blurry lens at an oil-coated tooth has little chance of providing a true picture of condition.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Always inspect the pinion, rather than the ring gear. Abnormal wear will be 4X as great on the pinion.

Whine on acceleration can be a loosened pinion nut, or a failing pinion bearing. With a loose nut, wear would be quite pronounced at the tip of the pinion teeth.

'87 Syncro GL 2.5
https://guardtransaxle.com