Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

To separate or not to separate, that is the question.
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Cowbeze15
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2016 9:21 am    Post subject: To separate or not to separate, that is the question. Reply with quote

Hi Everyone,

I am starting on my 66 bug build and I have a question for everyone. Should I separate the body from the pans if the pans are in great shape and do not need to be replaced or repaired? I know it will be easier to do the chassis work but is it really worth it? This is my first build and I am not making a show car but a daily driver.Thanks in advance
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Last edited by Cowbeze15 on Fri May 27, 2016 9:27 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
VOLKSWAGNUT
Fastest VW Belt Changer

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2016 9:23 am    Post subject: Re: To separate or not separate, that is the question. Reply with quote

IMO..
If the pans, rockers, channels and body gasket are good.... no real need to split it..

Its about the going not the showing
Rebuilt to drive not decorate
WANTED: Local Eatin' Joints, Triple D for TheSamba contributions here http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=570510
Search "VOLKSWAGNUT" on YouTube since you cant watch a "certain" BELT change video round here
Usually and often edited
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
grandpa pete
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2016 9:30 am    Post subject: Re: To separate or not to separate, that is the question. Reply with quote

x2 ...no real advantage to taking the body off .