Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1963 Ragtop Project
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
D63RAGTOP
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 5:27 pm    Post subject: 1963 Ragtop Project Reply with quote

Dear Samba Community

I have recently acquired a 63 ragtop. I am new to the VW scene and the only knowledge I have is from the research I’ve done on this site over the past couple of weeks. This project is for my nephew, I want to restore it with him so it can be his first car (It’s his dream car). If you can give me any words of advices and information on the car I would be grateful.

I know it’s in rough shape. That’s what sitting by the beach for 25+ years will do to a car.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

carnut63
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 5:35 pm    Post subject: Re: 1963 Ragtop Project Reply with quote

Shortest and best advice:

Strip the body down and have it professionally media blasted, fix the rust areas correct, professionally, and do it once.

Get your hands dirty with the chassis/engine/trans.

Have fun with it!

---> Mar 2 1955 Strato Silver Oval <---
---> July 1957 ragtop project <---
---> May 5 1966 Ghia <---
---> 1962 Ruby Red Deluxe (sold)
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger Gallery Classifieds Feedback
grandpa pete
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 5:43 pm    Post subject: Re: 1963 Ragtop Project Reply with quote

Read through the projects and build threads .
learn from others mistakes .
sometimes it's cheaper and easier to replace a door or fender than spend time and money fixing it .
Get the John Muir book on VW's and ask questions .....

How about a little 63 ragtop inspiration ; Laughing