Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

36hp Rebuild with WW Okrasa Kit in Bus - Many Questions
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Vintage Speed Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
hoss
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:09 am    Post subject: 36hp Rebuild with WW Okrasa Kit in Bus - Many Questions Reply with quote

I'm new to 36hp / Vintage Speed.. but I'm interested in setting something up in my bus that has a tiny bit more pep than what a stock 36hp can give me. Attempting to drive on a freeway in California is a bit scary.

So the bus it will be going in is a '58 Deluxe that is restored, but does not have the original block. I've had the bus about 8 months or so and have not put a lot of miles on the bus.. maybe 1,000 or so. In that time the distributor has popped out while driving twice with my family. The brass drive ring on the crank seems to be shredding when I have taken a peek in through where the fuel pump is. I figure it's best to do a rebuild at this point, as I don't feel like I can fully trust this engine without opening it up anyways.

I have a couple of quotes for a rebuild of my current 36hp, but I am seriously considering adding in the Wolfsburg West Okrasa kit while I am at it to get a little bit more oomph. I have the stock transmission and have RGB's still, so I'm not sure what the affect of any of this will have with this setup.

I have read a ton in this forum, but still have quite a few questions. I know the carbs that come in the kit will need to be re-bushed / rebuilt to work correctly (I see Mr. Okrasa advertising for this). I want to retain reliability and not go crazy with the budget here.

Questions...