Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Want one.
Forum Index -> General/Chat Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
mjmcclellan
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 9:12 pm    Post subject: Want one. Reply with quote

Hello. I'm new to the VW craze. I've always like them and I have know a few friends that had one. But I have never owned one myself. I'm looking at get a bug. Price range is under $8,000. Any suggestions?I've been told stay under year 1967. What should I look for?
Jon Schmid
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 6:43 am    Post subject: Re: Want one. Reply with quote

You can start with The Samba classified ads tab. Wink
gt1953
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 6:49 am    Post subject: Re: Want one. Reply with quote

Shop to you drop. Test drive many of them. The big thing is rust. The more the rust free the better. The mechanics are easier to rebuild.
I prefer a vehicle that is as stock as possible including the wiring. The value will be there in the future with a stock verses modified.

72 type 1
72 Squareback
({59 Euro bug, 62, 63, 67, 68, 69, 73 type ones 68 & 69 type two, 68 Ghia all sold})
windfish
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 7:19 am    Post subject: Re: Want one. Reply with quote

Depends on what you actually want.

There's nothing wrong with the late models ('68+). In fact they came with a number of improvements, including a collapsible steering column that wont spear you in a crash ('68+), dual circuit master cylinder ('67+), and a significantly peppier engine ('71+).

The early models are more desirable from a collectors standpoint and will fetch higher prices, depending on condition.

If you're not in a hurry look for ~ a month or two and watch price trends, you'll get an idea of what's selling.