Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

62 Baja AZ car
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Skorzeny's G Ride
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:43 pm    Post subject: 62 Baja AZ car Reply with quote

Just picked up a 62 2 weeks ago with a lot of work done to it. I took it on a drive for about an hour on freeway sat and motor began to making a ticking noise? Also did it sun. I'm thinking it might be overheating. My vw thing never had this problem but it was stock. This baja has a mix match set up. I'm going to go through the timing and double check the fuel mixture, etc. all the tins are there and it does have a remote oil filter and cooler. I've never used these before. anyone else living in 110 heat have input on set ups? Thanks [img]

[/img]

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

weasel_ugs
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:02 pm    Post subject: Re: 62 Baja AZ car Reply with quote

First off you want to get the heater vents on the shroud closed off.
After that find out if it really is overheating, no use trying to fix a problem that might not be there.
Skorzeny's G Ride
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:18 pm    Post subject: Re: 62 Baja AZ car Reply with quote

Ok. I've never ran a baja before I was just guessing it may be over heating. Seemed sluggish after a while and started ticking almost like a knocking. I'll close off the heater vents. Thanks. I was gonna add a temp guage as well just to help verify.
Dark Earth
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 8:20 am    Post subject: Re: 62 Baja AZ car Reply with quote