Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Jeremy's 1967 Squareback Slow Build
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
jeremydoc
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:42 pm    Post subject: Jeremy's 1967 Squareback Slow Build Reply with quote

Hey guys. My name is Jeremy, and I live in the South Bay in SoCal. I've been lurking on this site for quite some time now, and I finally recently made an account.

Just as a note, I'm not a mechanic, however, I've always been pretty good with my hands. I like to tinker; tearing things apart to see how they work and putting everything back together. I've worked on cars before, but only regular maintenance like brake jobs, oil changes, and small electrical stuff. Anything and everything about this car is a new experience for me. Part of the reason why I bought this was to learn the ins and outs as much as I can through hands-on experience, research, and with the help of you guys. So please be nice to me Laughing

I've been a big fan of Type 3's for a while, more specifically the Squarebacks. I've wanted one for a long time, just searching for the right one through the classifieds, Craigslist, etc. About a couple of weeks ago, I came across a 1967 Squareback in running condition (kind of), clean title, already registered, body wasn't all mangled and bent out of shape, only 14 miles from where I live, and most importantly for a decent price. It had 55,266 miles on the Odometer, but Im sure that's way past rolled over.

Here are some photos of it when I checked it out:

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

slight damage on the right side of the front apron.

only slight dents on fenders on all four corners, a couple on each door.