TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Oh crap, think my starters giving out
oilspot Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:47 pm

I've been running a 6 starter on a 12v system for a few years now. I just don't run it for more than a few seconds at a time. So here's my problem...
After a below freezing night the other night my bus acted like it had an almost dead battery. I jumped it and off I went. It started as usual for the rest of the day. Next day was warmer, same thing except just enough juice to start off of the battery, barely.
I figured it was my battery because it was a few years old. Just replaced the battery tonight, no improvement. My generator seems to be working fine (light goes off).
I guess it could be my starter connections, but i've never had cleaning them make any difference in any vehicle I've ever owned.
I just though to try tightening the top right engine nut (the starter one). It'll have to wait for the morning.
Any advise would be great in case my first attempts don't work!!! Gotta get to work in the morning.
thanks

langsmer Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:58 pm

Take your bus in to a vw shop, and have them grind out the bell housing of your tranny, then you can put the right fly wheel and starter in. It will be one less thing to fret about. :)

Flipseat Mon Mar 21, 2005 10:25 pm

Make sure all of your connections and grounds are good. Did you check your ground straps? Check the one on the trans, and also the battery ground strap. Make sure the connections are clean.

Also, it may not be a bad idea to check your starter bushing. They can oval out and then the bus will start real hard. If you're worried about the starter, put a 12V solenoid on it. I've run 6V starters on 12V systems with no problems, but after a while (quite a while usually) they can chew up the flywheel. I wouldn't go through the hassle of hogging out the bellhousing and swapping flywheels.

oilspot Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:09 am