TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Engine cuts out on hard right turns!!!
Surf Trip'n Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:01 am

I have a 87 Vanagon Camper that has a NEW problem that has arisen as of late. When I turn to the right, in some cases not all, I will lose power and the tach will drop. As soon as I staighten out, all is well. It runs great, but a hard right can cause the problem. Any thoughts?

PS the longer the turn the worse it is. :(

Tom Powell Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:17 am

how much fuel in the tank?
tp

hiram6 Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:29 am

Fuel starvation was the first thing I thought of as well. I've gotten too close to empty a few times while cruising, and had engine cut out as I took an exit ramp. That's a long hard right turn, just as you described.

puravidadon Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:58 am

It could be the power steering. I put a new belt on mine and every time I turned hard right the belt would squeal. I tightened the belt and that went away. I'm not an expert on hydraulics but I figured that when I turned all the way right the system reached the end and the pump had to work real hard. This could be your problem if your rpms are a little low.

danfromsyr Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:08 am

You are not the ONLY ONE with this issue...
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3...highlight=

you are going to have to pull your Dist cap and REALLY CLOSELY inspect the wires on the HALL effect sensor..
not just the plug (but don't skip it) but INSIDE the Dist at the TINY LITTLE wires..
I've had this issue with both my Vanagon & my Audi.. one little electrical distraction and the coil won't fire..
the Audi in it's over wired zealty at least tells me there's no Hall signal.. the van just stares at me blankly and says.. I dunno, but I'm not startin.

in the Van it was a Right hand turn symptom,
in the audi it was just intermittant.. but then would start with a Bump start and I suspected the Ign switch on the key even though it'd flash a Hall code.. it was right in the end..