TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: geoffwg`s 1970 build thread Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
geoffwg Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:54 am

hey every one! its time for another baja thread :D

my name is geoff and i live in yucaipa CA.
i am 18 years old attending crafton hills college and working part time at big 5 sporting goods.

i have a 1970 bug that i have been working on for the last four years. my plan was to buil a mild baja that i could crusie around town and get me to school and back, while still being able too do some local trails and go out to the deserts on weekends. then eventually build it into something similar to a class five.

i reached my goal half way through my senior year and drove around for a while after untill i really depended on my daily driver and after a hard weekend in the desert, i would run the risk of not being able to get to school or work on monday.

so now i have my dd a 1999 jeep cherokee and im starting to build again when time and money are present any ways.

here is some history up untill this point

these are some of the bug when we first brought it home, she was gutted and had some rust issuse

then we did a pretty basic cage just something to start out with, fiberglass, a body lift (not my first choice but thats what i got)

then i did a bunch of cage work running the rear shocks through the body.

and this is how i drove for a while untill i decided to try an turbo my 1600 dp.
i used a t3t4 turbo and used the stock solex pict 34 carb. i did a blow trough design and it worked for a while but my milage was terrible, and my turbo was way to big and never really produced enough boost to really feel the effects.

then i threw some paint on and reconfigured my front bumper and lenghtend m front shock mounts so i was able to run a ten ich stoke shock up front, i belive i was at just around ten inches of travle,

also in the rear i used a ten ich stroke shock and i was at 11 iches of travle in the rear.