TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 1961 Turkis Ragtop Build Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
laneven28 Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:26 pm

So Iíve been a samba member for several years, but have primarily lurked around reading otherís posts and hunting the classifieds. Iíve owned many VWís since I was 16 Ė Iím 40 now Ė and have been fortunate to own and build some great cars over the years. That said, I feel like I know very little compared to many of you out there, so please be gentle as this is my first build thread.

I have 3 boys and since they were young, I knew Iíd build a VW with and for them when they were old enough to drive. In the summer of 2008, my oldest son was 14, and I knew it was time to start hunting for his first VW. While Iíve primarily owned ovals, I wanted a big window ragtop for my sonís first VW so he could see out the back but enjoy the ragtop and styling of an early car. After searching for a couple months, I found a 60 ragtop advertised on the samba for $600 in western Oregon. The price was right and I really didnít expect much so I bought it sight unseen, then drove 12 hours one way to pick it up. As expected, it turned out to be a mess. Rusted out floors, rusty channels, big dent in the side, ugly 80ís paint job, no engine, no seats, more rust, but many of the parts were there. And it wasnít a 60 Ė it was a 61. I was more put off by that than all the rust, but got over it quickly. Put on some good wheels & tires, and towed it home to Utah without any problems. Once home, it went into storage until the next summer.