TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: My 73 Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
wv181 Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:04 pm

After searching and looking at cars for 6 months I bought this 73 in 2009. It was running but not very well. Took it to my local shop, full tune up. oil change, new fuel lines, gas tank flush, adjust brakes, replace a few lights and viola! I've been driving it for over 2 years. Now it's time to tear it apart and make it better? Newer? Different? I'll post as I go along. Here are a few pics from when I first got it. I did not get to keep the license plate, and yes that is a stretch of RTE 66 through N. Arizona.

guppysoup Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:16 pm

Nice 73! What are those brackets on the rear fenders?

Pbotsonis Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:30 pm

Bumper brackets

wv181 Tue Mar 27, 2012 12:17 am

After getting it in my tiny shop I started to take it apart and didn't find to many bad surprises. The front has been hit and had a huge amount of Bondo on it but I ground most of it away and primered over it.

Drivers front fender

From the top

Passenger side a little better

The 6 1/2 bolts from the driver fender and 7 1/2 from the pass.

guppysoup Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:02 am

Pbotsonis wrote: Bumper brackets

Thanks. Mine didnīt have them.

jjrannauro Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:09 am

Nice ride, once it's finished is going to look great. I own a 1977 Thing, it looked very nice, but it was in pretty bad shape with lots of bondo. Now it's at the bodyshop and it's getting a lot of new sheet metal parts. Thanks for sharing yor 181. Greeting from Cordoba, Veracruz - Mexico

wv181 Tue Mar 27, 2012 5:43 pm

Getting it more apart. Rust holes in the rear rockers and battery tray but other than that seems to be solid. removed all the body to chassis bolts and didn't break one!

Drivers rear

Passenger rear

Battery tray

Where PO had a hood ornament

Lower windsheild frame looks nice and solid

Upper frame ends both look good