TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: front brake flex hoses Page: 1, 2  Next
dhaavers Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:11 am

Pearls of wisdom from the "What did you do today?" files:
(Because I did MANY, MULTIPLE searches but ever found any other specific helps re: flex lines/hoses...)

teej wrote:

Spent a long day in the garage changing out the original 26 year old brake flex lines. Took every trick I knew, but I did not have to replace any of the hard lines. The passenger side front upper union nearly owned me, the flare wrench rounded over the nut, but the combination of focused heat and a notch to allow vise grip use did the trick. (Due caution exercised to not heat the battery thru the vent nor explode the van due to proximity to fuel evap system). Tommorrow fill and bleed, and fold the notch flap back down and seal the cut edges.

I am new to brake work. I could not have done this service without all the great threads on the Samba, in particular info I gleaned from VanagonNut, IdahoDoug, and insyncro. Many thanks!

Continued...

dhaavers Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:11 am

delibessleep wrote:
That is clever as hell!

dhaavers Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:12 am

teej wrote: ^^^Thanks! Actually I was at my wit's end, thinking,

"If only this heat gun had an attachment to direct the output around a corner." Scanned around the garage, and I spotted this old hollow lug wrench.

The real key though was cutting the little flap in the adjacent "stone (and wrench) deflector" sheet metal, which dhhavers improved upon in his post by removing it entirely for the service.

And a disclaimer just for anyone who stumbles upon this searching, remember of course the battery is on the other side of that vent--careful with the heat.

dhaavers Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:14 am

Just to piggyback on teej's project...

* FWIW: teej had notched the sheet metal for wrench access - see his pic #3 above -

Just got through this same gruelling procedure and was similarly frustrated with the sheet metal bracket, but