TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Clue me in on VW automatics....
The13bats Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:30 am

I really like my trike, the second one I have owned but it seems I am always up and down shifting so I was thinking about installing the VW automatic transaxle but need some info to learn if the swap is worth it,

My trike is based on a type one the engine is type one 1600,
I am told that the type one never came factory with the full automatic transaxle...I do NOT want auto stick.

So which automatic transaxle do I use and is it a bolt in or are they mods if you mod what do you have to do to make the swap work out,

Many thanks!
Cheers,
P.

wbrown45 Thu Aug 23, 2012 3:46 pm

Type III's and buses came with full automatics later in their model runs. I had a '77 bus with the automatic, and a 2 liter. It was very smooth, but an absolute slug on acceleration.

oasis Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:17 am

I have zero experience with automatics (not counting the EuroVan and my dad's Passat which are totally different animals anyway), but the few people I trust say the Type III automatic is simple and reliable.

When looking for a Type IV engine for my Super Beetle, people generally said to steer clear of examples that lived their first life in a bus because they would be more worn out before starting any kind of upright conversion. Again, I have no first-hand experience, but I would automatically (unintentional pun intentionally left in) extend that same concern to a tranny originating from a bus. I'm sure if I am off-base here with that concern, someone will pipe in. Just a thought. Good luck.

frankentrike Wed Sep 05, 2012 4:49 am