TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Need a GOOD Ignition Switch
1967250s Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:49 pm

Ok, 72 Deluxe, need a good ignition switch, do not want cheap chinese fire starter, who has the best? Will an earlier switch with metal housing like the '70 switch at autohauz work? I had a metal one originally and it finally wore out after +400K, tried the one available and promptly had a dash smoking while driving. The plastic ones don't fit and work properly, and I've already worn out 3!! Did a search and I get 40 pages of hits. HELP, PLEASE!
I am an electronics tech, so I know what I'm doing, but finding this is pissing me off.

germansupplyscott Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:53 pm

the new production 111 905 865 F switches are marginal quality. there is nothing new being made - that i am aware of - that is really good. NOS german obviously good, but to find them is nearly impossible. there isn't one brand that's better than another, most likely anything that's new production, from any vendor, is all the same. i don't think the 311 905 865 A/B switch will work, even if they fit they are not any better i don't think.

420GOAT Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:38 pm

try to at least get a Brazilian one.

tootype2crazy Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:49 pm

I had tons of trouble with cheapo switches until I managed to find a NOS item. Hopefully it will last another 30 years as the original one did.

westcoastmarek Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:02 pm

why not a used one from your local wrecker?

fusername Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:27 am

I got a new switch, after burning thru three of em just cut the wire for the starter and ran it to a push button under the dash. there is no good new switch. but only the start position kept burning out on mine, so i removed it.

stevespeirs Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:00 am

Got my replacement from BustedBus a few weeks ago. Great service, fast shipping and can't complain about the price either.

http://bustedbus.com

Good luck!

blacktruck Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:11 am