TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 1971 Elm Green A/T FI Squareback Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Donnie strickland Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:22 am

Recently my Bug got smashed by an inattentive driver:

http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5...ht=bye+bye

I spent some weeks mulling over a replacement car, and thinking if this might be the time to finally go the Type 3 route. I've been driving Bugs since 1984, and always liked the Type 3s, but didn't ever go that way because I always ended up sticking with what was familiar. But I had been lurking on this forum for the last few years, reading up on Type 3 stuff just in case that day ever came...

I began checking Samba classifieds, and Craigslist for Alabama and surrounding areas. I was looking for something specific: a Squareback for a daily driver, and preferably an automatic so my wife would be more likely to drive it. She can drive a stick, but she doesn't stay in practice and is "always afraid of doing something wrong with the shifter and I'll tear something up".

So I found a 1971 Elm Green Square on the Pensacola Craigslist. It was for sale by the grandson of the original owner, who bought it new in Mobile in 1970. The price was too high for me, but I watched it over the next few weeks, and it steadily came down. When it reached what I felt was the right level, I called to set up a meeting so I could look at the car. I rented a trailer, and my brother and I left early Saturday morning on the 4.5 hour drive (he has a 1-ton Dodge van with a 360, perfect for towing).

Upon arrival I found the car to look as good as advertised. The owner had a folder full of receipts from day 1, where work had been performed on the car. He had recently had new tires put on and all the fuel lines replaced, along with 4 new injectors, and oil change/valve adjust/points/plugs/trans fluid. I drove it and found it to start and run well, and the transmission shifted fine.

We loaded it up and headed back to Alabama: