TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Newbie Daily Driver
GuitarGuy Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:02 am

I'm new to the whole VW thing (and classic car, really) and looking for a daily driver for my guitar store. I've found a nice '77 bay with significant work done in 2010 and 2014, with receipts, and it is looking pretty good to me!

Question: What would you do, if anything, to a daily driver (only 3 mile commute, I suspect 4-6k mi/yr)? I'm thinking Gilmore A/C and would take suggestions on heat upgrades. Would anyone upgrade to hydraulic lifters, or make another change which could be considered an increase in reliability (oil system, maybe)? Suggestions on a tool and parts list to keep in the bus, which I've quickly discovered is a good idea, would be appreciated too! Thanks everyone!

TomWesty Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:13 am

Welcome! I don't know much about late bays, so I'll leave the recommendations to those who do. My bus and my guitars are my main interests, so nice to have another music type on here.

aeromech Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:25 am

I think you should post several pictures and include a breakdown of what was already done in the past. Then we can comment better[/quote]

GuitarGuy Sun Mar 22, 2015 9:05 am

http://classiccars.com/listings/view/629736/1977-v...rnia-92651

Many Small parts, here are items above $100:

Oil Cooler
Distributor Rotor
Push rod tube seals leaking
Removed rocker arms
Replaced push rods
Replaced push rod tube seals
Adjusted valves
Exhaust
Resealed Manifold
Replaced Catalytic conv and muffler
Reseal Exhaust system
Plugs/points and condenser/fuel filter
Replaced bad computer to fix one cylinder compression
Ignition condensor

New Drive Axle assembly (x 2)
Complete clutch kit
New Exhaust elbow
Upper Ball Joints
Full engine gasket kit
Pushrod tube
EGR Filler tank
Ruibullt type 4 engine
Heads (x 2)

jtauxe Sun Mar 22, 2015 9:19 am

Forget the A/C. It will be a lot of trouble, and will be a disappointment, and you have a short commute anyway.