TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Engine cages, roof racks
HeyWatchThis Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:45 am

Looking for some input on what is good to go with engine cages (what/where to buy). I have bent in one of my pushrod tubes just goofing around (nothing serious, they're slightly stronger than a soda can...). I was planning to get some aftermarket EMPI pushrod tubes (with jam nuts) and seals, and check to make sure my pushrods are in good shape (not bent, also).

Anyway, to prevent any more damage to the engine/exhaust in general, I really need to put a cage on this thing. It's a '68 baja with a 1600 DP. I have access to a MIG welder so I'm fine ordering a kit to save on shipping. I'm just a total newbie in terms of what's out there and the pros/cons of it all.

I have seen models that mount to the shock tower, and some that mount to the firewall. Is one "better" than the other? Are there any brands or types that are particularly good, or BAD?

Also, are there any roof racks out there that are a little beefier, kind of geared for the offroad crowd? Most of what I see is chrome shiny stuff with wooden panels etc... Not quite what I'm looking for. Making my own would be a good project but honestly I'd prefer to get a kit or prefabbed unit unless it's absurdly spendy.

Thanks for any help.

I Ride Sand Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:30 am

i can tell you right now, those empi pushrod tubes will leak. just so you are warned. the factory style tubes are what i suggest you use. they will not leak if installed correctly. as for your engine cage, is your car caged or not? if not, your best bet is something like this https://www.amazon.com/SHOCK-TOWER-BUMPER-buggy-cooled/dp/B003KKKML4

then add a skid plate.

you can also use factory sled tins if you have heater boxes, or industrial tins if you dont have heater boxes.

HeyWatchThis Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:49 am