TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: What motor & transmission should I run in my bug?
Baze Mon Jun 26, 2017 5:06 pm

Hi, I'm new to the site and wanted to ask for others opinion on this debate I've been having with myself. I have a 1966 vw Beetle that the previous owner put a Baja kit on, it ran great then I blew the piston and figure I would buy a new motor and transmission since they both are original to the car (so I was told). So the question I have is what motor size should I get and with what transmission, I would like to use the car as a daily driver, my drive to work is primarily freeway and I like to cruise around 75mph (the flow of traffic) but I would also like something I can take out on a dirt road and have the power to have some fun. The tires I'll be running are 31x10.50R15LT in the rear and 225/75R15 in the front. I would like to use these tire sizes since that's what's on the bug right now. Thanks for reading any suggestions on what setup you think would work best for what I would like to do would be appreciated.

Dale M. Mon Jun 26, 2017 5:24 pm

Is there a problem with transmission?.... IF not why replace it?....

Something mild with a little pep...For motor try something in 1776cc to 1835cc range and run about 8.5:1 compression ratio and maybe consider dual 40 HPMX carbs and mild cam..

Dale

Baze Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:56 pm

I was informed that the stock transmission isn't the best and that I might want to consider a new transmission geared more for freeway speeds since the stock transmission would have to push its self harder than it should be. Is that true at all?

Mal evolent Mon Jun 26, 2017 8:29 pm

Quote: The tires I'll be running are 31x10.50R15LT in the rear and 225/75R15 in the front. I would like to use these tire sizes since that's what's on the bug right now.

You would need 4.88s to turn these with a small motor, or 4.56 with a mid range motor. what you have in a '66 trans are 4.375 gears.

Baze Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:16 am