TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Ghia Subaru engine swap Page: 1, 2  Next
Ghia_SIngh Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:14 pm

Hello All.. its my first time on this forum.

I'm working on a '71 Ghia restoration.

A concern I continually have with the Ghia is the HP with the stock engine. I'm seriously considering a Subaru engine swap. Wanted to share my research, hoping to connect with others that have done it, and open it up for feedback/ from the group.

I'm a noob to the mechanics/engine... but can certainly find my way around after doing research/reading... Biggest challenge so far has been trying to find others that have done the Suby swap.
Also, finances are tightly monitored by the Misses for this project... so gotta do everything myself. Getting hands dirty is fun so no worries here.

These are my goals for a Subabu engine swap:
- Increase HP with newer tech engine (Although it still may be ~20 years old)
- Keep costs low < $1,500 all parts
- Little to no fabrication. Definitely not something i can do or want to take on.

My research has lead me to the following sites which provide the greatest amount of detail on a Subaru swap/conversion; However, none of it is specific to a Ghia:

http://www.shoptalkforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=136053

www.rjes.com

http://www.vtpete.com/vw/labels/engine.html

I've narrowed the selection to the following types of engines that will require little to no fabrication.
EJ22 SOHC
EJ25 SOHC

Have been calling around to VW shops up and down California trying to connect to others that may have tried it... but no success.

After a call to one company that does VW custom engines & conversion... i'm a little discouraged.
Was told that the conversion would require special catalytic converter, muffler, fabrication, transmission, engine weight considerations.. and on and on... But I'd say that +90% of this stuff is covered in the links above (especially www.rjes.com). With the caveat being that the info is not specifically for a Ghia.