TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Coworkers coming to work sick :( Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
67rustavenger Fri Dec 07, 2018 6:39 pm

I am a project manager and work in a large building with close to 500 people in three connected massive offices.
I come into contact with many folks throughout the day in meetings or stopping by their office cubicles to get project information.

Every year, someone comes to work with some sort of bug (not the driving kind) and spreads it to all of the coworkers.
We have VPN access just for cases like this.

Currently I'm in the beginnings of a cold that I contracted at work.
Patient "0" came in Monday of Thanksgiving week and was told to go home mid day. He came back in the following Monday and was again told to go home.
But the damage was done.

Now folks are spending 3-4 workdays at home due to this one idiot, that felt he just had to come to work.
Remember we have VPN. So there's no need to come to work sick. We can work from home, attend meetings via Skype while viewing what is being presented on screen.

Other than owning your own business.
I cannot understand, why workers at large corporations. Feel they are being of service coming to work sick and spreading their germs to masses of people. When they can work remotely.

Rant over.

vwracerdave Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:39 pm

I have had jobs where there was no paid sick leave. If I was sick and stayed home I DID NOT get paid so I was financially forced to go to work sick because I could not afford the loss of pay. My last job I did have sick leave, but when we took it we were disiplined for using it so again I went to work sick.

Zundfolge1432 Fri Dec 07, 2018 8:04 pm

Deleted

wcfvw69 Fri Dec 07, 2018 8:27 pm