TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Installing Seat Tracks - Panel Bond Adhesive
jfkeanejr Thu Apr 18, 2019 7:01 am

This might be a really dumb question, but I'm new at this. After installing floor pans, I know that I'm not good at Mig welding. I've read that panel bond adhesive is as strong as welding, and wonder if anyone has ever installed seat tracks with panel bond adhesive. Like I said, I'm new at this and realize I might be asking a ridiculously stupid question.

chrisflstf Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:28 pm

Just use bolts/nuts

Evil_Fiz Fri Apr 19, 2019 11:59 am

Since you have not received many replies I will offer you some "NON-EXPERT" comments.

- Glued panel joints CAN be stronger than welded ones but the joint has to be designed to be glued rather than welded.
- The bonded/glued joints have to be done in a precise way that involves preparation and adequate clamping. Educate yourself on the process before deciding.
- Gluing a joint that was intended to be spot welded can have disastrous results. Do a Google search for "glued Honda roof failure" for a list of examples.
- There is a panel glue on the market that is weld-through. This has the advantage of giving you a greater "bond" profile while retaining the safety of the intended spot welds for your pan halves.
- Learning to create strong welds is not that difficult of a skill. Creating attractive strong welds is a art. Teach yourself to make strong plug welds, or find someone nearby who is willing to teach you, and let your grinder make then attractive.
- My first welding project was a rotisserie for my Ghia. I was unsure of my welds so I asked someone with experience to review them. Get a few scarps of metal the thickness of the tunel lip and some the thickens of the floor halves and practice. There are a wealth of videos on YouTube covering the subject.
- Nuts and bolts, as mentioned above, can be a good alternative or supplement to plug welds.