TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 1.6 Diesel Non Turbo Thermostat
vonauspuff Mon Jul 13, 2020 6:26 pm

Hello All,

Just picked up our freshly imported 1990 Doka Syncro. It has a factory 1.6 non turbo diesel, which I have zero knowledge of. It blew the plastic coolant hose junction/tower that sits on top of the engine two hours onto a three hour drive home. I have that and the two temp sensors on order.
Since it overheated I'm going to replace the thermostat. I've been searching all day but can't narrow it down. Can anyone tell me the part number for the correct thermostat and thermostat housing? Also, I understand the engine code for the 1.6 TD is JX. What is the code for the 1.6 non turbo?
Thanks

sphet Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:17 pm

vonauspuff wrote: Hello All,

Just picked up our freshly imported 1990 Doka Syncro. It has a factory 1.6 non turbo diesel, which I have zero knowledge of. It blew the plastic coolant hose junction/tower that sits on top of the engine two hours onto a three hour drive home. I have that and the two temp sensors on order.
Since it overheated I'm going to replace the thermostat. I've been searching all day but can't narrow it down. Can anyone tell me the part number for the correct thermostat and thermostat housing? Also, I understand the engine code for the 1.6 TD is JX. What is the code for the 1.6 non turbo?
Thanks

If it is a 1.6na the engine code is CS. Thatís what my 1982 diesel is. However, Iím surprised a 1990 is an NA. Sure it is 1.6?

Thermostat: https://www.vancafe.com/056121113D-p/056121113d.htm
Housing seems harder to source. Maybe NLA?

ALIKA T3 Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:41 am

The Syncro never came with NA diesel, just the JX Turbo diesel.

You won't find the plastic flanges at the US retailers, they only came in the T3 about 1985-86. You can upgrade them to aluminum though with the corresponding senders, just don't use the ground wire, not needed on metallic flanges.