TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: The 21 and under club Page: Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AutoMechanic Wed Dec 09, 2020 11:14 am

I agree. I use knee pads at work and everyone laughs at me and they have been doing this for years but their knees and backs are shot. I’m in my almost 3rd year as a mechanic I started when I was 16 and I’m almost 19 and I’ve learned a lot and I’m saving up for retirement since day one I think I am going to try to get a shop management position or work somewhere like a parts store where it takes the toll off my body when I get older. I love this field but I don’t get treated well. I was offered a job with the local county garage before all this stuff started but then they canceled the offer when it did happen so I’m still left doing independent stuff. I want to open my own shop. My neighbor is a mechanic too and he helps me with a lot of things I need.

Abscate Wed Dec 09, 2020 12:28 pm

Quote: I use knee pads at work and everyone laughs at me and they have been doing this for years but their knees and backs are shot.

Your the smartest 19 year old here. Really smart. Body damage is cumulative and protecting your joints and back from day one, is really smart

I’m approaching 70 and still have everything working pretty well, but I limit myself to 6 hours of heavy work per day

AutoMechanic Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:01 pm

Abscate wrote: Quote: I use knee pads at work and everyone laughs at me and they have been doing this for years but their knees and backs are shot.

Your the smartest 19 year old here. Really smart. Body damage is cumulative and protecting your joints and back from day one, is really smart

I’m approaching 70 and still have everything working pretty well, but I limit myself to 6 hours of heavy work per day
Thanks. I agree. I also try to use rubber gloves when I can especially working around gas which they also think is funny. They will see one day I guess.

Zundfolge1432 Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:03 pm