TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Cold start issues plus disconnected hose
Kaisan Thu Aug 06, 2020 3:06 pm

Hi VW Fam,

My first post here - I recently came into the good fortunate of a 1983 air-cooled automatic Vanagon. Living in it full time as of a month ago. I'm also a total noob when it comes to car mechanics and the Vanagon under the hood. ... This will end well, right?

Been having issues with the cold start since acquiring the Vanagon - usually takes 4-7 cranks while gassing accelerator to get it going.H owever today it took over an hour after some prodding of valves and futzing around. Car would start, engine would turn over, then it would stall and die. Couldn't get it moving for more than half a second. Not sure if I just got lucky of actually did something to help it start.

Replaced the battery less than a month ago with an Interstate MT-41 (CCA 650, CA 810). Couple of car shops told me starter is fine.

Any advice on how to troubleshoot or what could be the issue?

Separately, I noticed the hose in attached pic is disconnected. Anyone know what it's for, and how to reconnect? The opening seemed pretty crude and not an exact fit.

Thanks for any and all advice, and look forward to contributing back once I have any idea of what I'm doing!

Best,
Kai

Wildthings Thu Aug 06, 2020 3:25 pm

The first thing I do when I buy a rig this old is replace all the vacuum hoses, boots, elbows, etc. There are literally dozens of places that can leak vacuum.

You should make sure your cold start valve is working, and also test the resistance of the TSII sensor from the plug for the ECU.

The hose that you have that is off is for the fuel vapor recovery system, while it needs to be reattached it is not your main problem.

For safety reasons you also want to replace all your rubber fuel lines with the correct 30r9 rated hose and your flexible brake hoses.

heidi85ho Thu Aug 06, 2020 3:31 pm