TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Off topic, but I hate this damn virus
Multi69s Wed Aug 19, 2020 2:34 am

Some of you know this, but I have been teaching at a community college for 20 years. I teach Electronics, CAD (computer aided drafting), and CAM (computer aided manufacturing). Everything is online now, but all of my classes were half lab exercises. Plus right before the virus hit, we went to a 9 week schedule. That means I am teaching via Zoom for 3 to 4 hours at a time. I thought my back was bad from being on my feet all day, but siting is just as bad.

For those of you that have lost your jobs, I am truly sorry. I just need to let off some steam.

Mal evolent Wed Aug 19, 2020 4:54 am

I just found a web site that listed 98 persistent symptoms of corona virus. apparently I have had it since 1954. it isn't get it, get over it, move on. I am already in Life 2.0 with a heart condition ( no beef. no booze. no bacon. no ice cream. no potato chips. at a 4th of July picnic, I can eat the beans. just the beans ) Corona would degrade the rest of my life even more.

one local restaurant is surviving with takeout orders, but they only keep 2 cooks and 4 waitresses working. the reliable ones who can train new people. we need a new governor.

jspbtown Wed Aug 19, 2020 6:08 am

I agree...I sympathize with those who have lost jobs...and there are LOTS of you.

My son moved back in when they shut Boston down and has been working remotely in my office. I am set up in my dining room. I haven't had the time (or ambition) to buy a decent chair yet so my back is killing me sitting at a old dining room chair for 8+ hours a day.

I find a nice 1/2 hour walk outside around lunch on the rail trail helps a lot.

Q-Dog Wed Aug 19, 2020 6:48 am

The museum where I volunteer has shut down completely ... entire staff fired. Since I am sort of retired, it hasn't affected me much otherwise.