TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 1966 Off-Road Beetle Build
MontanaFritz66 Sat Oct 03, 2020 6:53 pm

First, a little backstory. I have a habit I picked up from my dad of occasionally perusing the internet, mainly craigslist, looking for cheap vehicles and interesting projects. I never pulled the trigger before but in May I found a 1966 VW beetle for $600 just an hour away from me (Emigrant MT), I offered him $450 and he accepted. I live in Montana and sometimes deals like this are few and far between. I have little experience working on cars and definitely no experience with beetles. I knew roughly what sort of things I was looking for in the beetle but I definitely missed a bunch too. If anyone sees this and by chance knows more about this particular beetle I’d love to know the history.

As you can see in the pictures the body is pretty beat. I knew right away that I wouldn’t be trying to rebuild a stock beetle but would instead be going towards the baja/off-road side of things. Odometer says 35,XXX miles so I imagine maybe 135k, 235k or more. Previous owner says he bought it from someone’s estate after they passed away, sometime around January/February 2020. Immediate things I was told or noticed;
• Driver side rear wheel has a leaking axle seal
• Passenger side rear has a different drum than the others (probably earlier model or van?)
• Has been converted to 12v but not sure to what extent
• Headlights work, no high beams, no brakes, no brake lights, no blinkers
• Previous owner had the tires and put them on but they aren’t ideal
• Previous owner drained the oil and gas and replaced them and the engine was running
• Drove it before purchasing, can shift through all gears
• Horn doesn’t work
• Wipers don’t work
• Flashers don’t work
• Has a radio, not original, not connected
• Heater channels are not connected
• Engine tin is not all in place
• Previous owner says one cylinder has bad pressure, not sure how bad (maybe zero?)