TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Roll cage building help Page: 1, 2  Next
thesatelliteguy Sat Jan 16, 2021 6:42 pm

This is my first time building a roll cage from scratch. Iím just kind of steeling bits and pieces of other roll cage designs I find and copying them.
What do you think? See anything I should change before it gets fully welded.
I should point out that there will be more bars added to the sides. But I want to weld all the over head stuff first, then drop the cage through the floor and weld the tops of the over head tubes, then lift it back up and add my side bars, cross bars, bars going to front suspensions and so on.

sailtexas186548 Sat Jan 16, 2021 8:40 pm

I would like to see the middle of the cage closer to the roof, bugs are small and every inch counts. Otherwise I think it looks great, nice fit ups

rayjay Sat Jan 16, 2021 9:04 pm

When you start welding the tops you will find that the vertical legs will move on you. You should make a fixture to keep them fixed into place in relation to one another.

dustymojave Sun Jan 17, 2021 12:34 am

That Vee over the front seats should meet at the B-pillar hoop. not be spread. If they meet, you have a nexus, where the loads can spread evenly in all directions. With them spread, forces will be concentrated at the middle between the Vee legs and tend to crack the B-pillar hoop.

Structurally, a diagonal bar across the B-pillar hoop is needed in spite of the diagonals overhead. If the car rolls onto the side, a lateral force will still bend the uprights sideways. There's a 5-16 Baja Bug in my back yard that got rolled and in spite of the diagonal bar, it wasn't done right and the cage failed to the side. They had held the bottom end of the diagonal up to clear the fuel cell. So the cage bent at the diagonal a foot above the floor. The entire cage went sideways.