TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Hydraulic system restoration -DOCUMENTATION & HELP requested Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
epowell Thu Aug 12, 2021 5:17 pm

Hi Folks

I'm now starting to fully dig into my "Vancouver Van" Toni.
I am starting with fully dealing with the hydrolic system - checking it's health and replacing/rebuilding all the rotten or potentially rotten parts.

FIRST QUESTION: (how to remove the caliper pistons without an air gun??)
I want to first rebuild the front calipers... so my plan is to remove the calipers but keep them hooked up to the hydrolic lines. Then I intend to use the pressure of the brake pedal to pop out the pistons.
I have never done this before and would love if someone could give me a quick step by step guide as to how to do this.
One this video at 7:00 this guy does the deed... is he doing it right? (I have Early Girling calipers)

thanks
Ed

djkeev Thu Aug 12, 2021 5:35 pm

You can get a cheap air compressor for $100 (maybe less) at any big box store,
Go get one.

Dave

epowell Thu Aug 12, 2021 7:18 pm

djkeev wrote: You can get a cheap air compressor for $100 (maybe less) at any big box store,
Go get one.

Dave

We are in the process of liquidating everything in my mom's house here, so now is not the time to buy new tools.

I know it can be done with brake pressure so this is how I'd like to do it - unless there is any specific reason why it would be a bad idea.

Steve M. Thu Aug 12, 2021 8:50 pm

You can make a mess if you do not have a container under it! :D

Connect it back to the brake line and do not mount it back and step on the brake pedal!
If your doing both sides put a piece of wood in front of the pistons so they do not come out all the way, but far enough to get a grip on the pistons.
If one side comes out you will lose the brake pressure and not be able to get the other side out.

epowell Thu Aug 12, 2021 9:48 pm

Steve M. wrote:
Connect it back to the brake line and do not mount it back and step on the brake pedal!