TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Battery choices -- 1967 Type I (buggy)
Thing #6 Sun Nov 28, 2021 12:01 am

I just brought home a buggy built on a 1967 Bug.

It needs a battery.

It strikes me that the engine on this has less displacement than my Goldwing, which uses a small AGM battery.

Would this be a suitable battery type for the buggy? Or do I need an "automotive" battery?

Q-Dog Sun Nov 28, 2021 3:56 am

I've been using an AGM for a couple of years now with no issues.

The original VW battery is a Group 42 which is just about the shortest automotive battery made. Here is the AGM I am using in my buggy, next to a group 42 battery.

Cusser Sun Nov 28, 2021 9:01 am

6 months or so ago I put a Walmart 26R battery into my 1970 VW, was less than half the cost of Group 42. I haven't passengers in the back of the 1970 since the early 1990s at least, and I have a sheet of plastic and a wood board to isolate its terminals from the seat springs.

Thing #6 Sun Nov 28, 2021 9:07 am

This is the one that fits my Goldwing, do you think that would do the job?

https://www.amazon.com/Mighty-Max-Battery-YTX24HL-...amp;sr=8-4

EVfun Sun Nov 28, 2021 9:49 am

You should be able to use any 12 volt battery with 300 or more cold cranking amps (300CCA.) In my buggy there is a group size U1 battery. The battery you linked to is about the same size and cranking amp rating, and about the same price. It should work fine.

Thing #6 Sun Nov 28, 2021 10:10 am

Was 300 the original rating?

The big advantage of the battery I was looking at is that it's the same as in my Goldwing, in case I need to swap them. I could even put two in parallel.

EVfun Sun Nov 28, 2021 1:13 pm

Thing #6 wrote: Was 300 the original rating?

The big advantage of the battery I was looking at is that it's the same as in my Goldwing, in case I need to swap them. I could even put two in parallel.