TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Aux fuse box install tips
chuckpolzin Sun Aug 14, 2022 11:39 am

Hey guys planning on adding an aux fuse box like a blue sea systems or other similar unit.

Will be adding a “camping battery” with a bus depot battery isolater relay kit

Anyway. Had some questions on best location and install advice

I know they make models that either have a negative bus bar or without

I assume with the non bus model you would get all device grounds from the chassis?

Would you get the model with a negative bus for a cleaner install?
I assume i still wire the batt negative to a chassis ground either way?
Do you recommend under the front dash / kick panel area or somewhere in back?

Any advice on best way to wire up a second fuse box to an aux battery would be awesome. Thanks!!

dodger tom Sun Aug 14, 2022 12:06 pm

i’m a driveway mechanic, so forgive the possible stupid question….

why do you need a negative buss on a fuse box? don’t the two contacts just pass through one pole, usually positive?

if you mean a sub-panel (i.e., distributing aux power from a central location), then i understand.

chuckpolzin Sun Aug 14, 2022 12:09 pm

The box can sometimes have a negative / ground terminal block so the difference would be either you run a wire at each accessory to the chassis or body metal. Or run a negative wire back to the fuse block.

The two terminals on the standard fuse block are the hot leads its just the pre fuse “supply” and the post fuse “load”

bsairhead Sun Aug 14, 2022 12:10 pm

I would think the neg. bus bar would make for a less clean install. As the only reason to have a ground point is if you had a fiberglass body.

airschooled Sun Aug 14, 2022 1:24 pm

High end stereo installs can use a dedicated ground wire/circuit to eliminate hiss/buzz in quiet parts of songs.

Send me a PM if you want to chat aux wiring installs, I’ll be in Wisconsin at several of the CVVC and Milwaukee area club campout a this season.

Robbie