Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Full blown Westy or Weekender?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Westywannabe
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 6:48 pm    Post subject: Full blown Westy or Weekender? Reply with quote

Ahoy Westy Heads,

I’m exploring the world of used Westys.. As I have no experience in these vehicles, I can’t decide whether to consider the full Westfalias, or go for the Weekender in our pre-owned camper vehicle shopping considerations . Our vision (SO and I,) is to travel from Ontario to the South West US, (Grand Canyon, New Mexico,. The desert, etc.) for about 6 weeks this late fall. We are experienced sailors, but have no experience with land yachts. The VW Weekenders on the used market are a whole bunch less $$. Than the full blown Westfalia deals. I am looking for a 83-89 Vanagon. We wonder if stowing our Origo alcohol stove from the boat and a plug in cooler as well as a wash basin are a suitable alternative to the full Westy package. Any insights on this issue would be gratefully appreciated.

Cheers

Erwin,
Thornbury, Ontario.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Classifieds Feedback
seabright_sc
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I guess it depends what you want. Some are very happy with more (apparent) room and less weight- weekender.