Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

carburator synchronizer question
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
batoni
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 5:03 pm    Post subject: carburator synchronizer question Reply with quote

Hi folks,this is my first time here.I am in Europe,and have a stock SOLEX dual carburators on my 68' Notch.I ordered a while ago carburator synchronizer from MID AMERICA MOTORWORKS the model looks pretty cheap(29.99) and it can be seen on http://www.800luvbugg.com/shop?frame=6.30.4987

Now,my question is how to use this tool?Anybody can help with step-by-step.And most important:Do I put this synchronizer directly over the top of carbureto,or I need any additional adaptor.If so,then how can make the adaptor,and what are the dimensions/materials needed.There was no use manual inside this product.Please help.
Thanks in advance
Air_Cooled_Nut
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have both and prefer the more expensive unit. Since I have Dellortos I don't know if you'll need an adaptor but I seriously doubt it. Yes, you put the device on the carb throat so air will pass through it. I'll let those who like fiddling with carbs explain how to use them.
The First Invasion
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Russ Wolfe
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need an adapter to get above the stock aircleaner mounts. I use a piece of 1 1/2" PVC pipe, but have use in the past a frozen juice can with both ends cut out.
Rummage around, and you will find something.