Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

new calipers
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
lovedavdubs
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 5:15 pm    Post subject: new calipers Reply with quote

I'll be installing a set of brand new Girling calipers this weekend. Can anybody post a link to a brake bleeding tutorial. I've never done this before and want to lay out a game plan before I start pulling things apart.
kevinbassplayer
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a link I had marked for changing a brake master cylinder, it does include info on bleeding (I haven't had to do this..... yet Wink )

http://www.vanagonauts.com/index.phtml?catid=190

On a side note, you should update your avatar, your van looks awesome with the GW wheels! I was orginally lusting after the Reins for the last year but after seeing the pictures you posted, I'm leaning heavily towards the go westy 15" wheels! (It never ends does it?!)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
lovedavdubs
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Kev Cool

I've put quite a few miles on them since January and I highly recommend them.
riceye
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here you go:

Pull all of the bleeders - one by one. Use a box end wrench - preferably six point - and be careful! Penetrating oil may help. Take the bleeder out, run a wire through the hole, and clean it on a wire wheel on a bench grinder (or the like). Apply a thin film of anti-sieze to the threads. Replace into the wheel cylinder or caliper.