Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

56-60? glove box inserts
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Loren
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:28 pm    Post subject: 56-60? glove box inserts Reply with quote

After talking to a fellow early Ghia owner a few weeks ago I have decided to take my glove box insert project off the shelf and start working on it again. I have been collecting parts for my 58 Ghia project for many years and still can't find a good replacement glove box insert, only the crappy plastic ones, yuk! A year or so ago I looked at the remains of the glove box insert I had and decided that it wouldn't be too hard to reproduce it. Well, I finally found a good undamaged original glove box insert to use as a model and make a mold from.

My question is: if I am able to make a near perfect reproduction that fits as original would any one else be interested in one? I hate to go through all this work to make one glove box insert for myself. If there is interest I could also look into flocking the interior of the inserts as original, though I don't know what colors were available and I doubt there are any sample books. I would also be limited by the colors of flocking available. Does any one know how many colors were available? I looked through my early parts books and there is only one part number listed and no color options. When was the black paper pulp glove box insert superceded with the grey cardboard version? I know the interior of the glove box was colored to match the color sceme of the car/interior, but was this the case through out the use of the black glove box insert? or did VW change to a "one color fits all" glove box later in production?