Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

can I keep my tranny if I want to lower my 67 bus??
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Split Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
firzout
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 3:42 pm    Post subject: can I keep my tranny if I want to lower my 67 bus?? Reply with quote

I'm new with the buses, So, I've been asking a lot of questions. But, I've been learning a lot also. I want to lower my 67 13 window dlx. 1 reason being because I like the look, but I also want to be able to cruise on the highway. I'm not sure if I have to change my tranny and use a 68 bug tranny in order to cruise at 60 - 70mph. I just learned my tranny is a large nut which has the 4:12 ratio.

My question is can I keep my tranny or need to change it?
Second , if I keep it how do I lower the rear ?

PLEASE HELP

P.S. I'm using aftermarket 5 spokes on 195/50/15
rizzag
Now Wut?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can keep your trans but you will need to have a professional trans guy flip the ring and pinion

other parts you need

68 bug axles or any year type 3 axles
straight axle kit
short axle bug bearing caps
brakes of your choice
outer bug wheel bearing spacers
firzout
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my question is, if I can keep my tranny, can I lower the bus without making changes to my rear end? If I'm going to need all that stuff should I just go with a conversion kit?

I want to know if I can lower my bus by keeping my factory setup?
rizzag
Now Wut?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

firzout wrote: